ectara.png

Hand-Printed Woodcuts
by Parvathy Baul
Online Art Auction

 
Art Auction US Tour 2022 poster.jpeg

Date & Time

USA timezones - Friday, 8 April 2022 

PDT: 6:00 pm

MST: 7:00 pm

CDT: 8:00 pm

EST: 9:00 pm

Other timezones - Saturday, 9 April 2022

Europe - EST: 3:00 am

India - IST: 6:30 am

Japan - JST: 10:00 am

Australia - AEST: 12:00 pm

E88CB4BF-0B3B-404F-8869-2458FC455EFD_4_5005_c (2).jpeg
WhatsApp Image 2021-07-21 at 4.54.48 PM.jpeg

About Parvathy Baul

Parvathy Baul is a practitioner, performer and teacher of the Baul tradition from Bengal, India. She is also an instrumentalist, storyteller and painter.

 

She has performed in over forty countries, including such prestigious concert halls and music festivals as the Noh Theater in Kyoto, the World Music Center in New York City, Melbourne Arts Center and the Festival of World Sacred Music in Fez, Morocco.

The depth of her mesmerising performance is rooted in her deep spiritual practice. Indeed, Parvathy Baul’s performance work emerges from a long lineage of master Baul singers, dancers, and spiritual teachers.

 

She studied closely with two of the most respected Baul singer-gurus of the previous generation, Sri Sanatan Das Thakur Baul and Sri Shashanko Goshai.

 

She was recognized by her gurus as both a musical and spiritual teacher in the Baul tradition, carrying forward their spiritual legacy. She is a tireless advocate for both preservation and renewal of the Baul tradition.

Whatever form her artistic expression takes, it always has been inspired by Parvathy Baul’s inner practice, experience, and the knowledge she has received from her gurus. Fruit of the sadhana, all the works of art have been born in the process of meditation and contemplation.

The forms - be it in the body movement, music, or visual arts - are profoundly spiritual in their nature and constitution and are, for the artist herself, an act of prayer.

Parvathy Baul and her Guru Shri Sanatan Das Baul

Parvathy Baul performing "Krishno Kali' in front of her own artwork

Visual Art & Inner Practise

As a visual artist, Parvathy Baul integrated her visual art work with the inner practice. She was inspired by the traditional art practices of India and the world, which are reflected in her art work. She engages now in creating art which helps seekers to mediate, contemplate, and touch the wisdom of the ancient Baul tradition.

 

The final result transcends the usual visual representations of the Sacred and joins, in a masterful confluence, various traditions and schools.

 

The paintings and the woodcuts are not mere repetition of the old styles. Throughout the years, various innovative ways of depicting well known subjects emerged from the intimate space of inner silence. 

At the same time, taking roots in the transmission from the Baul sampradaya, they hold the power that can be born only from the mastery of the traditional ways.

 

Parvathy Baul has created a new art form that is truly unique to the Baul tradition and which has its own "shakti" in its form.

Woodcuts

Art Auction Details

The auction will take place online

USA timezones - Friday, 8 April 2022 

PDT: 6:00 pm

MST: 7:00 pm

CDT: 8:00 pm

EST: 9:00 pm

Other timezones - Saturday, 9 April 2022

Europe - EST: 3:00 am

India - IST: 6:30 am

Japan - JST: 10:00 am

Australia - AEST: 12:00 pm

 

 

 

Registration process:
 

1. If you'd like to participate, please sign up with your email address,

2. We will then send you an email with a very short bidder registration form

(= it asks for  you full name & address)

so we can ship you the artworks in case you win any.

(Look out for our emails in your PROMOTIONS & SPAM email folders)

 

We will then send you the beautiful art catalogue with descriptions

and estimates for each piece of art.

Thank you for your support!

The art auction is an initiative to raise support for the traditional Baul school Sanatan Siddhashram. Parvathy Baul founded this lush and fertile center 2017. It is located in the countryside of Birbhum district near Santiniketan, West Bengal, India. 

 

We pray that with the help of this event, we can contribute to the growth of this project. The Baul school will both preserve the ancient Baul tradition for the future, and also will help society by giving an example of a life fully centered on spiritual practice. Acts of selfless service to humanity and the Earth naturally spring from such a spiritual focused life.